Addiction

20130716-233331.jpg

I wasn’t really prepared to see this at my grandfather’s funeral on Saturday, but I’m glad I did.
This is my father’s. He died of a drug and alcohol overdose the day I turned 24. We had a memorial service in Denver without his remains because the toxicology testing took weeks. My family scattered his ashes in Montana the next year though I was unable to attend. They placed this plaque next to my uncle’s (who also died as a result of drugs and alcohol when I was 15).

Cory Monteith died from an overdose this weekend, and though he accepted his addiction and sought help, he still succumbed to his demons. Please do not allow this to happen to you.

I know that addiction is a disease, but it is also a choice.

If you have a problem with drugs or alcohol, tell someone who loves you. I watched my dad destroy himself from the inside and it still scars my little heart. Please ask for help.

You are far too important.

P.S. My grandfather was a sweet, careful man, but he suffered from alcohol-induced dementia for years. He was gone a long time before I said goodbye.

10 thoughts on “Addiction

  1. It is heart breaking to see what dementia can do to someone you love and to know in part it was brought on by them having done what was seen as the ‘norm’ is doubly so and sadly the mentality of ‘real’ men being able to consume ridiculous amounts of alcohol still continues I wish we could teach them real men aren’t afraid to say lets not have a beer and do something exciting instead xxx

    • I couldn’t agree more. My paternal grandmother is still sharp (and 85), but smoking has taken its toll on her as well and she now has an aortic aneurism. It’s heartbreaking to watch others consume themselves, whether it’s with alcohol, drugs, or even food. Thank you for your comment

  2. Your words just broke my heart…to see someone you love destroy themselves..knowing that even their love for children and family is not enough to motivate them to overcome addiction.
    Sadly, I see more and more newborns in the NICU go through withdrawal. We place these brand new little souls on methadone or morphine to get them through the long and painful process of withdrawal. I struggle with the fact that a large number of these infant’s mothers get angry at us for doing so…they seem oblivious to the fact that we are humanely treating a condition they are responsible for creating.
    I could not agree more that addiction is both a choice and a disease……and our society is so overwhelmed with this problem that these innocent infants often go home with their mothers (as long as she is compliant with her treatment program). However, I have to wonder just how often these mothers actually get lost in or escape from the “system”….taking with them a brand new little baby who deserves so much more.

    • I’m so sorry that it’s necessary that you treat those little babies, but at the same time, I’m glad they have you to care for them. I don’t see how the mothers get to take them home though, since what they’re doing is tantamount to child abuse and if a mother is already neglectful and selfish before a baby is born, they will likely be just as irresponsible later. Thank you for your words.

Leave a Reply

