Evacuated from my home

Hey everybody. I live in Colorado Springs, in a neighborhood called Mountain Shadows. Since my husband is a Springs firefighter, he was able to confirm that out house is safe but he won’t be off work for quite a while. Meanwhile, my kids and I are staying at a friend’s house. My mother, sister, and many friends are also evacuated from the northwest section of town.
I’m not going to be able to update the blog again until after things are settled with the fire. As such, my second work, EMPIRE, may not meet its Labor Day deadline.
I can’t tell you what it’s like to see the fire approaching you, your family, your home, and your life. I know that Dan is doing the job that he loves, but the notion that he will ever be safe again is far-fetched at this juncture. I hope that we will get to go home soon, but I don’t want to get my hopes up. Thank you, family, friends, and fans for all your help and support. I really appreciate it.
This picture was taken while waiting in traffic to evac. I had not received a reverse 911 call when the fire crested the mountain. With family friends, I had about 20 minutes to leave.

20120629-153001.jpg

17 thoughts on “Evacuated from my home

  1. For us Swedes a fire of that magnitude is difficult to comprehend. It must be terrible to watch your husband set out to battle such a monster. I hope it doesn’t take too long before you’re all back home, safe and sound.
    Anna

  2. Stay safe. You and all who are affected by the fires have been in my thoughts. I have survived two house fires. I cannot imagine what it is like for you. I do hope you make out alright.

    • Thanks Becca. I, too, survived two house fires at my mom’s house growing up (two separate incidents with radiant heat in the ceiling causing smoldering fires). Then I married a firefighter…then my house almost burned down. Can’t seem to get away from this stuff. Hoping to get back to the house sometime next week.

  3. Stay safe. I have survived two house
    fires. I cannot imagine what it is like for you. I do hope you make out alright.

  4. Just caught this. I have been thinking of you every day. Stay safe and well– all of you. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. If you need an ear, message any time, okay?

    • Back in my house tonight! Feeling a bit better, but I know that my husband will have to go back on the mountain to contain the fire; as such, I think I deserve a drink…

Leave a Reply

