I need a new name…

everythingsright.com

The MC for my second work (YA Christian fantasy) EMPIRE has the last name of Grey. Unfortunately, this is also the last name of a certain character that’s incredibly popular right now…much to my chagrin. So I think I need to change it. I asked an editor friend of mine who suggested something that means grey or ash (there’s a forest fire that precedes the beginning of the story in my MS) and I was hoping my readers might have an idea or two? Her first name is Haven (Adeline Haven Grey is my daughter’s name).

So far, I have some ideas that I’m not super sprung on: Liath (Irish), Asche (German) and a few plays on words (Ashley and Slaytor, for instance, but my husband keeps thinking of A.C. Slater from “Saved by the Bell”). What do you think? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

UPDATE: My readers have spoken! “Asche” will be her new last name! Thank you all for your input (I’d be lost without your help).

Image credit to everythingsright.com, an awesome Tumblr page

8 thoughts on “I need a new name…

  1. Hmmm this is a toughie, some last names off the top of my head: Slate, Smoke, Cinder, Clay, Heather, Stone, and Fog. I’ll keep thinking and let you know if I come up with any more….

  2. Personally, I like Asche. I’m great with first names, but not last names. You could always miss-spell a name (on accident or on purpose). That’s how I got my pen name lol.

    -Eliabeth Hawthorne

Leave a Reply

