Historical fiction and the little things that make it real: Setting I

To celebrate the Kindle and Nook versions of my novel, I’m going to talk about setting for a moment. When researching for my novel Why Aren’t You Sweet Like Me? which is based on a true story, I had a need to be as historically accurate as possible. That being said, I wanted to make sure that even the smallest details were not just thrown in; I needed them to have a purpose as well. While writing, I knew that there are people still alive that knew this time (like Honey), and that would appreciate my taking the time to create a setting that is a character on its own; I don’t wish to disregard them by pulling out of the story with inaccuracies either. This will be a three part blog, and first, I will talk about one of my favorite things (and one of the most prized possessions of WWII): the cars

Don had his 1939 Ford cream convertible named “John the Baptist”

A similar car restored today:

Bobby had a 1938 Chrysler Imperial C-19 in Mediterranean Blue

Caroline (Honey’s mother) had three black cars in the novel:

1938 Buick Sedan

1940 Cadillac Sixty Special

1940 Lincoln Continental

And I will end with the most impressive: Emmett’s white 1938 BMW convertible (modern picture of an antique).

6 thoughts on “Historical fiction and the little things that make it real: Setting I

  1. I share a similar motivation when I write anything fictional: the belief that someone will read my work who knows first-hand about which I write. I try to be accurate enough that it brings back memories, rather than causing irritation.

    That being said, these cars are beautiful. It’s interesting that the one modern cars that still keep similar design objectives as these are Bentley and Rolls Royce.

  2. Love the pictures. Shortly before Hurricane Katrina hit, there was another big storm heading to the Gulf Coast. My kids and I evacuated to a small town in northeast Mississippi called Tupelo. We expected to sit around the hotel for a couple of days and be pretty much bored. We discovered instead that Tupelo has an amazing antique car museum! The collection housed there was fantastic, and even included a very rare Tucker. My 13 year old son was enthralled as he spent hours looking at everything. I have often said if I ever struck it rich, one of my first purchases will be a restored car.

Leave a Reply

