“The Time Has Come!” The walrus said…

Image

Captain Don Shepard from “Why Aren’t You Sweet Like Me?” for the Sunbury Press

The eBook for my WWII historical fiction novel is out! I’m so thrilled that it’s now available on Kindle and I’m thankful to all my friends and family who have supported this insane idea. I’ve been getting awesome reviews and looking forward to this new format for my work. Here’s the link: http://www.amazon.com/Why-Arent-Sweet-Like-ebook/dp/B007EV9CP2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1330541912&sr=1-1


To celebrate, I’m posting Don’s jody from the novel! For those who are unfamiliar with jodies or “jody calls,” the army started using these marching cadences to keep time and motivate the troops. The are called by a leader and repeated by the group. It closes chapter 17:

I step up to the barber’s chair

Snip, snap, and I got no hair

I PT morning noon and night

I’ll be ready for that fight

Got my pack and I’m in the sky

An Army soldier ‘til I die

Get the guns boys we gotta go

Hear those bombers blow, Baby, blow

Got my knife and I’m runnin’ true

If I die, then I’ll take them too

If I go, then I’m not alone

Box me up and ship me home

Put me in a new set of dress blues

Comb my hair and shine my shoes

Pin my medals upon my chest

Tell my Honey I did my best

When I’m in heaven I’ll see my lass

And run maneuvers with Thomas

2 thoughts on ““The Time Has Come!” The walrus said…

Leave a Reply

