Booktrack – music to read by…

Do you read to music? If so, what do you listen to? My second book EMPIRE has two or three songs that I always imagine playing in the background of specific scenes, similar to soundtracks in movies (only they’d have to be significantly longer!)

Booktrack is the “creator of the eponymous ereader technology that merges sound with text to create an immersive reading experience.” (courtesy of wikipedia) I found out about this company when looking up a book called The Power of Six, which was the first book outfitted for this program.

Note to self: see if I can get this app for my Kindle Fire…

I used to read and write to classical but I can now listen to almost anything while working (yes, including rap) but I really appreciate the Vitamin String Quartet’s versions of my favorite songs without the lyrics. If you write, what music would accompany your words?

If I could have sections of EMPIRE set to instrumentals, it would have to include Sia’s “Lullaby”, Coldplay’s “The Scientist” (this is the Vitamin String Quartet version, but Willie Nelson’s is great too), and Band of Horses’ “The Funeral” (coincidentally, this is my son’s favorite song – my 3 year old has very developed music tastes, apparently…)

I’ve included the YouTube links in case you’d like to hear them. You don’t have to watch the videos, just listen.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Booktrack – music to read by…

  1. Carrie,

    Thank you for your kind post! Unfortunately, Booktrack is not currently available for the Kindle Fire; however, it is available for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android, and Windows-based computers. We hope you will have an opportunity to try it out and let us know what you think!

  2. I wish I could listen to music while I read because there’s so little time to read AND write AND listen to music that I usually neglect the music. But I just get too distracted and contemplative and stare off into space instead of at the page. I guess I’m a bad multi-tasker.

  3. Nice post, Carrie. I often listen to music while I read and find myself thinking of (or humming) tunes that seem to compliment the plot or characters. I’m glad to know about Booktrack.

Leave a Reply

