Great Lines II: That is a tasty burger!

So since I know my friends are reading this, and since you’ve probably watched your favorite movie 35 times or more (“The Big Lebowski” anyone?) I know you have some awesome lines from books, movies, and songs for me to mention in my next book. I’d love for you to share the quotes that you love, from the epic to the obscure…here are fifteen of my favorites to get ya started.

1. “I don’t know how to put this, but I’m kind of a big deal.” – Will Ferrell as Ron Burgundy, “Anchorman”

2. “Like I’ve told hundreds of people, love is the big thing.” – Don, Why Aren’t You Sweet Like Me

3. “Follow your inclinations with due regard to the policeman ’round the corner.” – W. Somerset Maugham, Of Human Bondage

4. “If I had my own world, I’d build you an empire – from here to the far lands – to spread love like violence.” – Tom DeLonge of Angels & Airwaves, “Secret Crowds” from I-Empire

5. “My father was very sure about certain matters pertaining to the universe. To him all good things – trout as well as eternal salvation – come by grace and grace comes by art and art does not come easy.” – Norman Maclean, A River Runs Through It

6. “I fell off the Jetway again…” – Jim Carrey as Lloyd Christmas, “Dumb and Dumber”

7. “Everything’s more than it seems.” – Gavin Rossdale of Bush, “Alien” from “Sixteen Stone”

8. “‘Love’ is too weak a word for what I feel – I lurve you, you know, I loave you, I luff you, two Fs, yes I have to invent, of course I – I do, don’t you think I do?” – Woody Allen as Alvy, “Annie Hall”

9. “I am Heathcliff.” – Catherine, Wuthering Heights

10. “It is a truth universally acknowledged that a zombie in possession of brains must be in want of more brains.” – Seth Grahame-Smith, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

11. “Frightened? Child, you’re talking to a man who’s laughed in the face of death, sneered at doom, and chuckled at catastrophe…I was petrified.” –  Frank Morgan as The Wizard, “The Wizard of Oz

12. “God could have allowed all the bombs and every blast to hit, shake, and break apart the Earth and I would have died contented in that moment. Everything that I had been through and every emotion that I have ever experienced, good or bad, was made perfect, permanent, and preserved in her emerald eyes, in her tiny hands. And when I die, this is the moment that shall comfort me…” – Honey, Why Aren’t You Sweet Like Me

13. “Bratwurst? Aren’t we the optimist?” – Allison Janney as Ms. Perky, “10 Things I Hate About You”

14. “They can’t hurt you unless you let them” – Art Alexakis of Everclear, “One Hit Wonder” from “So Much for the Afterglow”

15. “That is a tasty burger!” – Samuel L. Jackson as Jules Winnfield, “Pulp Fiction”

Please give me some more! You can post here, on my FB page (facebook.com/whyarentyousweetlikeme) or tweet me @carrienyman

3 thoughts on “Great Lines II: That is a tasty burger!

  1. My mom read the line “god could have allowed…” and made me come read it. I had no idea this was your blog, or that was your writing. Pardon my french, but holy shit carrie, you can write. I think my fav line so far is from the prologue – walking up the stairs with groceries. Here is a line for you.

    “I swear by my life, and love of it, that I will never live for the sake of another man. Nor ask another to live for mine.” -Atlas Shrugged.

    ” So alive, I go home to the coast – it starts to rain. I paddle out on the water, alone. Taste the salt and taste the pain. Im not thinking of you again. Summer dies and swells rise. The sun goes down in my eyes. See this broken wave darkly coming to take me. And I’ve never been so alone. And I’ve never been so alive.”

Leave a Reply

