There will be time to murder and create…before the taking of toast and tea

Today, I received an email from my editor that said that she would be sending me the proofs for the book this weekend. (Hopefully, that means Why Aren’t You Sweet Like Me will be out before the end of this year!) Then, I will have 20 days to sign off on all the revisions.

Whenever I hear the word, “revisions,” I think of T.S. Eliot’s thought-provoking “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock.” If you’ve never read it or don’t remember it, here’s the link to one of the best modernist poems ever: http://www.bartleby.com/198/1.html

It also got me thinking about the poetry professor during my sophomore in college told me that I shouldn’t write poetry. He said that I was a good writer of prose, but definitely not a poet. He said that poetry and prose were not to be abused, as their lines could intersect but not completely overlap. I disagreed.

I had been a poet for as long as I could remember, and at 19, I was a finalist in a writing contest comprised of professional writers. I was invited to recite that poem at a dinner at the Fine Arts Center and Colorado’s poet laureate introduced me by telling the audience that I was a “gypsy wind”: a wind that started out slow and soothing, but then knocked you flat on your back. And so I felt that this slight from my teacher was against everything I was. I couldn’t write for weeks.

I must acknowledge now that this professor was wrong. Poetry and prose can overlap because the novel is an art form, and I can’t wait for you to read it.

Leave a Reply

